Astrology and Spirituality

Most of us are so engrossed in our day to day life that seldom do we ponder over life’s deeper meaning. We do not know why are we born on this planet Earth, what’s the purpose of life and what will happened after death. But a spiritual person knows that the real purpose of life is to go back to the Supreme Godhead. This is called Liberation or Moksha.

The Vedas recommend four primary aims of human life: dharma, artha, kama, and moksha, which translates as “religion, economic development, sense gratification, and liberation. By performing our duties, we’ll earn money to enjoy life, and along with a life of enjoyment under religious guidelines, we should try for spiritual liberation. To attain liberation, one should follow spiritual path and dedicate themselves to unadulterated devotional service.

“One whose happiness is within, who is active within, who rejoices within and is illumined within, is actually the perfect mystic. He is liberated in the Supreme, and ultimately he attains the Supreme.” A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupāda, Bhagavad-Gita As It Is

A spiritual person doesn’t identify with the physical body but knows that he is a soul trapped in a human body. He longs to be free from the repeated cycle of life and death. Thus he doesn’t seek bodily pleasures but concentrates on a life of spiritual austerities for purification of mind and soul. He takes shelter of an enlightened Spiritual Master or a Guru for guidance on the spiritual path.

A person’s horoscope can throw light on his inclination towards spiritual path. Spirituality is the journey with an ultimate aim of going back to the Supreme Godhead and astrology can support this endeavor by helping the seeker to fulfil his destiny and progress on the spiritual path.

Houses to be observed

Ascendant or Lagna:Ascendant represents the self, the person & his behavior, his appearance, his personality, his ambitions, his priorities, his energy and his deepest desires.

5th House: 5th House represents past life and its actions. It’s also the house of intellect, intuition and reason.

9th House: 9th House represents religiousness, philosophy and higher intelligence.

12th House: 12th House represents karma, the subconscious mind, spirituality, the search for self-renewal and liberation.

Planets to be observed

Spiritual growth is indicated by the planets Jupiter, Saturn, Sun, Moon, & Ketu. Among these, Jupiter is very important and dominates the horoscope of a spiritually inclined person.

Jupiter: Jupiter is considered to be the most benefic planet as it gives material wealth as well as spiritual progress. It represents religion, philosophy, divine knowledge and the Guru.

Saturn: Saturn represents knowledge on hidden things. Saturn leads a native towards a life of tyaga or renunciation.

Moon: Moon represents mind. It reflects psychology and emotional state of the person. For someone aspiring for a spiritual life, moon has to be very strong. If moon is strong and is receiving good aspect then the person will have a stable mind and will be able to control the wandering desires of the mind which is the first step of spiritual growth.

Sun: Sun represents the soul’s strength and its interests.

Ketu: Ketu represents spirituality. It governs spiritual thoughts and liberation.

Astrological combinations for Spirituality

  • Saturn in Pisces aspected by Jupiter indicates detachment from the world.
  • Relation between lords of ascendant, 5th, 9th and 10th houses, indicates that the native will be a very advance seeker of the God.
  • Sun in conjunction with Saturn or mutual aspecting each other or in quadrant to each other, makes a person notable in spiritual field.
  • Sun in 12th house indicates marked improvement in later part of life in the field of spiritualism.
  • Jupiter and Saturn related to 5th or 9th house/lords.
  • Jupiter/Saturn/Sun/Moon/Ketu related to 5th/9th/12th house/lords.
  • Placement of Jupiter or Ketu or both in 12th house.
  • Moon in conjunction with or aspecting Saturn may give support for the spiritual practices.
  • Saturn in 9th house makes a person a spiritual seeker.
  • Lords of 5th, 9th and 10th combined in 12th house.
  • Saturn being the lord of ascendant is related to 5th, 9th and 10 houses/lords.
  • Moon and Saturn posited in each other’s house, aspecting each other.
  • Moon in 9th house without having aspect of any planet indicates sanyas.
  • Saturn aspecting a weak ascendant indicates sanyas.

Yogas for Spirituality

Sanyasa yoga:  4 or more planets occupy a single house in the horoscope while one of the planets is connected with the 10th house. Such a combination should ideally occur in a kendra to affect the Lagna.

Muni yoga: When ascendant of the navamsa chart and ascendant lord of the birth chart are together in the birth chart. This is the yoga of Munis.

Kemdrum yoga: When there is no planet in 12th or 2nd from the moon or conjunct the moon.Such person prefers an isolated life, and loves their own company.

Moksha yoga: When Sun, Moon and ascendant lord along with Ketu are in 1st, 8th or 12th house. This yoga indicates that the person is living their last physical life and will attain moksha.

Virinchi yoga: When Jupiter and Saturn are in kendra in good strong signs while 5th lord is in the trikona or kendra houses. Such yoga indicates preference for renunciation and adopting spiritual life.


 Some Notable Horoscopes for Spirituality

As examples of spiritual combinations, let’s analyze the horoscopes of some notable spiritual gurus:

Ramakrishna Pramahamsa


Ramakrishna Paramhamsa was an Indian mystic and saint who was also the spiritual master of Swami Vivekananda. In Sri Ramakrishna’s horoscope, the lagna lord is Saturn, the significator of discipline and asceticism and one of the two spiritual planets along with Jupiter. Saturn is exalted in 9th house being aspected powerfully by Jupiter. 5th house is occupied by Jupiter which is aspecting 9th house and Lagna. The lord of the 5th house Mercury is posited nicely in the 1st house where it is strong and aspected by Jupiter. The lord of the 9th house Venus is exalted in Pisces and positioned in the 2nd house. 9th lord goes to the 2nd and 2nd lord goes to 5th where it is aspected by the 1st lord.


 Swami Sivananda

Swami Sivananda

Swami Sivananda was a spiritual teacher and a proponent of Yoga and Vedanta. In his horoscope, we observe that the lagna lord Saturn is placed in 5th house in conjunction with Rahu and is aspected by Jupiter & Sun. Jupiter is posited in Lagna. Moon is placed in 9th house and is aspected by Jupiter. Sun is in 11th house along with Ketu & Mercury and is aspected by Saturn.


Sri Sri Ravishankar

Sri Sri Ravishankar

Sri Sri Ravishankar is a renowned spiritual leader and the founder of ‘Art of Living Foundation’. He has millions of followers all over the world. Sun, Jupiter and Mars are exalted and all the three are in Kendra position to each other. Lagna Lord is posited in 11th House in conjunction with Rahu. 5th lord Moon is in its own house along with Ketu and Mercury (9th House lord). Moon & Saturn are mutually aspecting each other. Jupiter is exalted in 7th house and is aspecting the lagna.

Previous Post Next Post

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!